The Board of Trustees is the governing body of the University of Tennessee, overseeing the educational and operational activities of the statewide University system.  The 12-member board is comprised of 1 ex officio member, who is the Commissioner of Agriculture for the State of Tennessee, and 11 appointed members, one of whom is a non-voting student member.  The secretary of the University and chief of staff to the UT Board of Trustees is its principal staff liaison.

UT Board of Trustees group photo
First row, left to right: Decosta Jenkins, Donnie Smith, Amy Miles, John Compton, Kim White, Kara Lawson
Second row, left to right: Jai Templeton, Jamie Woodson, Lang Wiseman, Kenneth Packer, Bill Rhodes
Not pictured: Alan Wilson