

## THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE BOARD OF TRUSTEES

### MINUTES OF THE SPECIAL MEETING December 6, 2021 Knoxville, Tennessee

A Special Meeting of The University of Tennessee Board of Trustees began at 5:00 p.m. (Eastern Standard Time) on Monday, December 6, 2021. The meeting was held virtually with Board members participating electronically or by telephone. The meeting was hosted from The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, campus.

#### I. Call to Order and Roll Call

Chair Compton called the meeting to order. Board Secretary Cynthia Moore called the roll, and the following members of the Board were present: John C. Compton, Chair; Bradford D. Box; Lane Gutridge, Student Trustee; Decosta E. Jenkins; Amy E. Miles; Christopher L. Patterson; and Jamie R. Woodson. President Boyd was in attendance.

Ms. Moore addressed requirements for meetings conducted with members participating electronically and announced the presence of a quorum. The meeting was webcast for the convenience of the University community, the general public, and the media.

# II. Appointment, Initial Compensation, and other Terms of Employment of the Chancellor of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center

Chair Compton reminded the Board of the Board's responsibilities for approving the appointment of officers, along with their initial compensation. President Boyd provided an overview of the search process and thanked the members of the search committee for their efforts in bringing forth two, very strong candidates. President Boyd shared information on Dr. Peter F. Buckley, MD, and recommended him as the next Chancellor of the University of Tennessee Health Science Center, with the initial compensation and other terms of employment as set forth in the executed offer letter included in the meeting materials. Trustee Rhodes, who served as Chair of the search committee, commended the members of the committee for their passion and commitment to the University. He shared his strong support for the President's recommendation.

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Board approved *Resolution 092-2021*, by unanimous roll call vote.



### III. Approval of Compensation and Other Terms of Employment of Former Officer

Chair Compton explained that, under the Bylaws, when a former officer retires or otherwise leaves office, the title, compensation and other terms of employment must be approved by the Board before the employment can begin. In addition, if the officer holds tenure and assumes full-time faculty duties, the Board shall set the faculty salary in accordance with Board policy.

President Boyd stated that Dr. Steve Schwab will be resuming full-time faculty duties effective February 1, 2022. President Boyd recommended the title of Chancellor Emeritus, based on the number of accomplishments of UTHSC under his tenure as Chancellor, and noted that the compensation and other terms of employment were included in the meeting materials circulated in advance of the meeting.

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Board approved *Resolution* 093-2021, by unanimous roll call vote. On behalf of the Board, Chair Compton thanked Dr. Schwab for his service as Chancellor.

### IV. Confirmation of Trustee Appointment to Executive Committee

Chair Compton indicated that following the recent resignation of Kim White from the Board, a vacancy occurred on the Executive Committee. Pursuant to the UT Focus Act and the University's Bylaws, the Executive Committee is required to be composed of five (5) voting members of the Board. Board Chair Compton indicated that he has made an interim appointment of Trustee Jamie Woodson as a member of the Executive Committee, which appointment is being presented to the Committee for confirmation. Other members of the Board voiced their support for Trustee Woodson's appointment.

Upon motion duly made and seconded, the Board approved *Resolution 094-2021*, by unanimous roll call vote. Trustee Woodson abstained from the vote.

### XIII. Adjournment

With no further business to come before the Board, the Chair adjourned the meeting.

Respectfully Submitted,

Cynthia C. Moore

Secretary and Special Counsel

Cynthia C. Moore