MINUTES OF THE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE MEETING

BOARD OF TRUSTEES

THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE

June 16, 1999 Knoxville, Tennessee

The Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees of The University of Tennessee met at 3:30 p.m. Eastern Daylight Time, Wednesday, June 16, 1999 in the Board Room, Andy Holt, Tower, The University of Tennessee, Knoxville. The following members were present:

Mr. James A. Haslam, II Mr. Charles E. Coffey Mr. Amon Carter Evans Mr. Jerry L. Jackson Dr. Joseph E. Johnson Mr. William B. Sansom Mrs. Susan R. Williams

The Secretary announced a quorum was present.

Appointment of Vice Chairman of the Board and Appointments of Standing Committees. Mr. James A. Haslam, II, Chairman of the Executive Committee, said the term of office for Vice Chairman of the Board is normally two years. He said the Bylaws allow the continuation of the Vice Chairman for an additional period of time by the affirmative three-fourth vote of the entire Board. Mr. Haslam said his recommendation is that Mr. William B. Sansom's name be forwarded to the Board to continue as Vice Chairman of the Board of Trustees during Dr. Wade Gilley's initial year as President.

Mr. Haslam also recommended that the standing committees of the Board be realigned as set forth in Exhibit 1 and forwarded to the Board for approval.

The motion to approve Mr. Haslam's recommendations was made by Mr. Jerry L. Jackson, seconded by Mrs. Susan Williams, and unanimously carried.

There being no further business to come before the Executive Committee, the meeting was adjourned.

Beauchamp E. Brogan Secretary