MINUTES OF THE TRUSTEESHIP COMMITTEE BOARD OF TRUSTEES THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE

January 20, 2010 Nashville, Tennessee

The Trusteeship Committee of the Board of Trustees of The University of Tennessee met at 8:30 a.m. CDT on Wednesday, January 20, 2010, in the offices of Bradley Arant Boult Cummings, Suite 700, 1600 Division Street, Nashville, Tennessee.

I. CALL TO ORDER

Chair Andrea J. Loughry, Chair, called the meeting to order.

II. ROLL CALL

Secretary Catherine S. Mizell called the roll, and the following members were present:

Anne Holt Blackburn Andrea J. Loughry James L. Murphy, III Jan F. Simek

The Secretary announced the presence of a quorum. Mr. Bill Carroll was unable to attend the meeting.

III. APPROVAL OF MINUTES OF PRIOR MEETING

Chair Loughry called for corrections or additions to the minutes of the November 12, 2009 meeting of the Trusteeship Committee. There being no corrections or additions, Trustee Murphy moved approval the minutes, and Trustee Blackburn seconded. The motion carried unanimously.

IV. OPENING REMARKS OF THE COMMITTEE CHAIR

Chair Loughry relinquished her opening remarks to allow Trustee Murphy to provide an update on the special legislative session called by Governor Bredesen to address education in Tennessee. Trustee Murphy discussed several issues, including a proposed Memphis Research Consortium, transferability of general education courses, and uncertainty among some institutions about the impact of a revised funding formula.

V. GOVERNING BOARD'S ROLE IN ACCREDITATION

Introducing the first item of business for the Committee, Governing Board's Role in Accreditation (Exhibit 1), Chair Loughry noted that the Board's role in accreditation is related to the focus of the new funding formula on outcomes. She explained that two national organizations, the Council on Higher Education Accreditation and the

Association of Governing Boards (CHEA-AGB), have issued a joint statement on best practices concerning Board involvement with accreditation. An adaptation of the CHEA-AGB statement was prepared for the Committee's consideration by Catherine Mizell and Bonnie Yegidis (Exhibit 1). The Trusteeship Committee is being asked to review the suggested best practices for Board involvement in accreditation and determine whether to refer those best practices to the Academic Affairs and Student Success Committee for detailed consideration and tailoring to the specific environment and needs of the University.

Chair Loughry moved approval of referring the suggested best practices for the Board's role in accreditation, as presented in the meeting materials, to the AASS Committee. Trustee Murphy seconded the motion. He commented that the training of the Board and newly appointed Trustees concerning accreditation should be overseen by the Trusteeship Committee. Trustee Blackburn agreed and asked that Chair Loughry's motion be amended to include Trustee Murphy's suggestion. Chair Loughry referred the Committee to the second page of the materials on this item and noted that the motion as amended by Trustee Murphy would be the recommendation that the Board should engage more fully in the accreditation process and that the AASS Committee should consider the suggested best practices actions and implement them, as appropriate, except that the Trusteeship Committee should retain oversight of the ongoing education program for Trustees concerning accreditation. Trustee Blackburn seconded the motion as amended, and it carried unanimously.

VI. TRUSTEE AWARD RECOGNIZING LONG AND EXTRAORDINARY SERVICE / ACHIEVEMENT

Chair Loughry stated that she took the responsibility, along with Catherine Mizell, to draft a suggested outline for a prestigious Trustee award recognizing long and extraordinary service to the University or achievement bringing recognition to the University. Ms. Mizell stated that the materials include a summary of current major awards at UT, including major awards at each campus. She also called the Committee's attention to examples of existing awards for current employees and students.

Chair Loughry stated that the focus of this award would not be aimed at current students and employees. She discussed comments she collected from Trustee Carroll and from the Development office as well as criteria for awards at peer institutions.

The Committee then discussed several questions concerning the suggested criteria. Trustee Blackburn indicated her view that award should be limited to those who have provided extraordinary service or achievement for the University, not for all of Tennessee higher education. Trustee Murphy agreed and also added that financial support alone should not be a criterion. He stated that financial support could be a criterion along with exceptional service, but not in place of exceptional service. He also stated that although his preference is that the award be given to a living

person, the decision should be made on a case-by-case basis and deceased individuals should not be declared ineligible. He added that making current University employees ineligible might suggest that retired employees working part-time are ineligible. The Committee determined that criterion with respect to employees, Trustees, and elected officials should be consistent with the naming policy and the honorary degree policy. Trustee Murphy stated that he preferred the name, "Trustee Lifetime Achievement Award." Chair Loughry and Trustee Blackburn agreed. Trustee Murphy moved approval of the criteria and name of the Trustee Lifetime Achievement Award as discussed at the meeting. Trustee Blackburn seconded the motion, and it carried unanimously.

Chair Loughry clarified that financial support should be removed from the criteria altogether so that the criteria include only extraordinary service to the University, not extraordinary service and financial support.

VII. SETTING NEXT COMMITTEE MEETING

Ms. Mizell stated that she will poll the Committee to set the next meeting date.

III. OTHER BUSINESS

The Chair asked if there was any other business to come before the Committee. There was none.

XI. ADJOURNMENT

There being no further business to come before the Committee, the meeting was adjourned.

Catherine S. Mizell Secretary