The Research, Outreach and Economic Development Committee oversees programs seeking to extend the University’s scientific, technological, commercialization, and educational expertise to communities, counties, agencies and organizations in Tennessee and globally.



  • William E. Evans, Chair
  • George E. Cates
  • David A. Shepard

Ex Officio:

  • Vice Chair of the Board
  • President of the University (non-voting)
  • Commissioner of Agriculture
  • Commissioner of Education
  • Executive Director of THEC (non-voting)
  • Voting Faculty Trustee
  • Voting Student Trustee
  • Non-voting Faculty Trustee
  • Non-voting Student Trustee

Professional Staff Non-voting Representatives:

  • David Stern, UT Health Science Center
  • Margaret Norris, Institute for Public Service
  • Tim Cross, Institute of Agriculture

Principal Staff Liaison:

  • Stacey Patterson, Vice President for Research, Outreach and Economic Development